The Claremont Institute

June 30 CCJ Town Hall: What A Difference A Justice Makes

July 1, 2016

In this town hall, Dr. John C. Eastman, Founding Director of the Claremont Institute's Center for Constitutional Jurisprudence, and his guests discuss the final opinions in the 2015-16 term. 

Dr. Eastman moderates the discussion alongside his fellow Claremont Fellowship faculty member, John Yoo. Professor Yoo is the Emanuel S. Heller Professor of Law at the University of California at Berkeley School of Law and a visiting scholar at the American Enterprise Institute. Prior to teaching, he served as a law clerk for Justice Clarence Thomas, general counsel for the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee, and assistant attorney general in the Office of Legal Counsel. He has authored several books, most recently the edited volume, Liberty's Nemesis: The Overexpansion of the State.

Dr. Eastman and Professor Yoo are joined by three of our distinguished Fellowship alumni. William Haun, a 2013 John Marshall Fellow, is an associate at Hunton & Williams LLP. He will serve as a law clerk to Judge Janice Rogers Brown in the D.C. Circuit for the 2016-17 term. Marcella Burke, a 2014 John Marshall Fellow, is an associate at Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP. She recently served as a law clerk to Justice Don Willett on the Supreme Court of Texas. And Michael Huston, also a 2014 John Marshall Fellow, is an associate at Gibson Dunn & Crutcher. Prior to joining the firm, he served as a law clerk to Chief Justice John Roberts.